Lent with Bonhoeffer, Thursday, March 7, 2013

by xcrawford

bonhoefferhelpfulness

The second service that one should perform for another in a Christian community is that of active helpfulness. This means, initially, helping in simple physical ways. There is a multitude of these things wherever people live together. Nobody is too good for the simplest service. One who worries about the loss of time that such petty, outward acts of helpfulness involve is usually taking the importance of his own career too seriously.
 
***We must be ready to allow ourselves to be interrupted by God. God will be constantly crossing our paths and canceling our plans by sending us people with needs and requests. We may blow them off, preoccupied with our more important tasks, as the priest passed by the man who had fallen among thieves, perhaps – reading the Bible. When we do that we forget that Jesus on the Cross taught us – not our way, but God’s way must be done.

Bonhoeffer ­ A Prayer for Lent

I Cannot Do This Alone
O God, early in the morning I cry to you.
Help me to pray
And to concentrate my thoughts on you;
I cannot do this alone.
In me there is darkness,
But with you there is light;
I am lonely, but you do not leave me;
I am feeble in heart, but with you there is help;
I am restless, but with you there is peace.
In me there is bitterness, but with you there is patience;
I do not understand your ways,
But you know the way for me….
Restore me to liberty,
And enable me to live now
That I may answer before you and before men.
Lord whatever this day may bring,
Your name be praised.
Amen

Revised Common Lectionary New Testament reading Friday and Gospel reading Sunday

